style tuesday

Style Tuesday: An Introduction to Play

Wait, isn’t this blog about space for God, not clothes?

With the still semi-new direction of Navigating Grace, change is on my mind. When would be a better time to start something new? There’s been a new kind of post I have wanted to do for a while, but felt too silly to start: outfit posts.

Now, at first glance, this seems to counter the call for making space and simplicity in my life. That fear is the very reason I have hesitated for so long to start them. And yes, too much emphasis on outward appearance will never result in true grace. I love the freedom found in Proverbs 31:30: “Charm is deceptive, and beauty is fleeting; but a woman who fears the LORD is to be praised.”

And who can forget 1 Peter 3:3-4? “Your beauty should not come from outward adornment, such as braided hair and the wearing of gold jewelry and fine clothes. Instead, it should be that of your inner self, the unfading beauty of a gentle and quiet spirit, which is of great worth in God’s sight.”

But God, sometimes I LIKE fine clothes!

After a bunch of prayer, here’s what I believe: a love for image, for fine clothes, for being the best-dressed, for the most beautiful worldly possessions… that’s not from God.  Those are clutter in a world obsessed with the wrapper. But it’s important to not stop there! Our God is a creative god. He has created everything, and delights in the creativity he has given us. While I get there is more going on than just one word in this verse, notice the word new in Psalm 96:1: “Sing to the Lord a new song.” God loves the newness of human expression and a creative spirit. I have felt a gratefulness when I use his gifts- to create, to change, the play, and to express the personhood he has given me. And I have always loved to do those things through clothing.

With all that in mind, please understand that these OOTD’s are not to make myself seem super-hip and cool and adorable. Honestly, I took these photos, came inside, and immediately took off my pants to put on my Pepto-Bismol pink, sewing-printed pajamas. I’m not aiming at being the always effortlessly-dressed chic girl, because I’m not her. (Who is, anyway?) These posts are just another way of delighting in everyday gifts, encouraging creativity, and sharing joy. These posts are meant to shake off self-consciousness and learn to better delight in fun. I’m learning to make space for play, and navigate god’s grace by giving myself permission to receive small pleasures. “Indulging” to fill up my happiness pool makes me better able to give some life-giving water to a friend when they need it!

(Kudos to my impossibly patient husband Caleb, who encouraged me to go outside in the 30 degree weather and actually get this project started. Even if it meant him taking iPhone photos in his flip-flops just outside of our apartment.)

So, with an introduction over, here’s to kicking off a first Style Tuesday!

15941210_10211318446935198_4016753864822817153_n
wearing: cami (Forever 21), sweater (1950’s vintage), jeans (Topshop for Nordstom), socks (gift from a friend), boots (Steve Madden, found at DSW).

This outfit was put together in the hopes of cheering up an otherwise dreary January day. Would you believe that it actually worked? It’s pretty hard to be sad when you’re wearing cactus socks. I’ve been in the habit of rolling up my jeans to let a peep of fun socks show lately, and it’s been so much fun. Looking down to see something a smidgeon silly helps me to loosen up and not take myself so seriously.

15825990_10211318447055201_8857100737016886227_nThis sweater is one of my favorites of all time. My mother bought it on a thrifting trip. As it is my favorite cut and color, she kindly gifted it to me. That tiffany blue never fails to make me smile. It sounds silly, but I often feel the most myself in tiffany blue–it’s a little vintage, a little silly, and always seems welcoming. Look at that gorgeous detailing!

15940835_10211318446375184_5842634231962036317_n.jpg

CHECK OUT THESE SOCKS. No, seriously. How amazing are these? A bridesmaid of mine gave them to me as a wedding gift. They were a reminder of the joke I once made that I loved our “cactus friendship”–even when we forgot to water it, it stayed alive and thriving the minute we returned to it. Every time I wear them, I think a) HOW COOL ARE CACTUS SOCKS and b) of her thoughtful nature in selecting a gift so personal.

15823181_10211318447015200_1347285505674936616_n.jpg

Rather than rushing through the process of getting dressed, I allowed myself to enjoy the process of delighting in play. Do you have any clothing pieces that just make you smile?

blogsiganture

4 thoughts on “Style Tuesday: An Introduction to Play

Leave a Reply

